Belajar jadi Guru

Module and syllabus of Conversation Class

Posted on: August 3, 2010


Syllabus Design of Conversation Class

Conversation Module of SMA Muhammadiyah 1 Karanganyar

LESSON PLAN 1

LESSON PLAN 2

(Sample of the content of the Conversation Module)

How to know Others

Do you like to make a friend? Or do you like to have a lot of friends? Then you should know how to introduce yourself in various situations.

What you should do

  • Greeting

Formal Greeting:

  • Good morning
  • Good afternoon
  • Good evening

Common Greeting:

  • Good day!
  • How di!
  • Hi!
  • Hello!
  • Introduction

Formal Introduction

  • My name is Elizabeth
  • My name is Richard Hamilton. What’s your name?
  • I am Australian.
  • I live in Canberra.

Common introduction

  • I’m Elizabeth. Call me Liz!
  • Hi, I’m Richard!
  • I’m from Australia
  • Closing
    • How do you do?
    • It’s nice to meet you
    • I’m happy to meet you
    • I’m glad to meet you
    • It’s pleased to meet you

To make good impression in the first meeting, it is better to say something to show that we want to meet him/her again. We can say:

ü  Good bye

ü  Good night

ü  See you later

ü  See you soon

ü  See you tomorrow

ü  Good luck

ü  Keep in touch

ü  Take care

ü  I’m looking forward to seeing you

ü  Cheerio

ü  Have a good time

ü  Etc…

Read The two examples below!

Example 1

Elizabeth : Hello! I’m Elizabeth Mandel

Chuck      : Hi! My name is Charles Chang. But please call me Chuck.

Elizabeth : Nice to meet you Chuck. You can call me Liz.

Chuck      : Ok. And what’s your last name again?

Elizabeth : Mandel

Chuck      : Nice to meet you too Liz

Example 2

Mr. Campbell : Good morning I’m John Campbell.

Mrs. Edward  : Good morning I’m Lucy Edward

Mr. Campbell : How do you do Mrs. Edward?

Mrs. Edward  : How do you do Mr. Campbell?

Task 1

Find the differences between them and discuss it with your teacher!

Task 2

Discuss about “Addressing system in English”

The use of Mr,Mrs,Miss and Ms!

Task 3

Play Role Play

Make a group with your friends then practice these situations:

  1. You go to the bookstore. Incidentally, you have a crash with someone, then you make a friend.
  2. You are in the new class. You make a friend with a new student
  3. You are in your friend’s birthday party. You are interested to make new friends in the party.
  4. You are a delegation from your school to visit the youth organization meeting. You get many new friends, and you are interested to have new friends.
  5. You go to your friend’s home. You introduce yourself to your friend’s parents.

Personal Identification

If you go abroad or you need to have some important documents ( ID card, Driver License, Passport, Credit Card, Insurance Card, etc) you will have to give your personal identity.

Questions

  • Excuse me, may I know your name please?
  • What’s your complete name?
  • How do you spell your name?
  • Where are you from?
  • What’s your address?
  • Where do you go to school?
  • How do you go to school?
  • What grade are you?
  • When were you born?
  • Where were you born?
  • How old are you?
  • What’s your father ‘s name?
  • What does he do?
  • What’s your mother’s name?
  • What does she do?
  • Are you married or single?
  • How tall are you?
  • How weights are you?
  • What is your nationality?
  • What are your hobbies?/ What is your hobby?
  • What is your favorite food?
  • What is your favorite drink?
  • What is your favorite TV program?
  • What is your favorite subject?
  • How do you study English?

If you can answer all of questions above, then learn about CV (Curriculum Vitae) below! You fill the blanks with your own identity.

Curriculum Vitae

1. Full Name      :

2. Sex                :  Female/Male

3. Place and date of birth :

4. Nationality      :

5. Address           :

6. Marital Status :

7. Religion         :

8. Education     : 1. Kinder garden School of……in  199…………

2. Elementary School of………….In 200………….

3. Junior High School of…………In 200………..

9. Parents’ names : Father …………………..

Mother………………….

10. Parents’ jobs   : Father…………………….

Mother…………………..

11. Height             :……………..cm

12. Weight            :……………..Kg

13. Hobbies           :…………………………

14. Expectation     :……………………….

15. Extracurricular :……………………….

Task 1

Discuss with your teacher about another kind of Personal Data!

Task 2.

Practice the questions to ask about personal data and the personal identity form in these situations:

  1. You want to enroll to new school
  2. You want to have a driver license
  3. You want to check up your health in the hospital
  4. You want to have a job

How to Introduce Others

If you are able to introduce yourself and make your own personal identity, now you try to introduce your friend or your family member to the others.

There are no difference in introducing others with introducing others. You just keep attention in how you make an introduction.

You can use some words:

  • Let me introduce you with my brother…
  • Hi Adam! This is my brother, Luis.
  • This is my brother Luis
  • That is my sister Anna.
  • That is my sister, her name is Anna

Commonly “This” and ”That” are used for introducing someone.

Read the examples below!

Example 1

Andrea  : Hi Ahmad! This is my friend, Lisa. Lisa, this is Ahmad

Ahmad  : Hi Lisa, nice to meet you!

Lisa        : Hi Ahmad! Where are you from?

Ahmad  : I’m from Dubai.

Lisa        : Nice! I’m from Rome. Nice to meet you too Ahmad

Example 2

Ms. Janet  : Good morning Steve. I want to introduce you with our new trainer, Henry Campbell.

Steve        : Good morning Mr. Campbell!

Mr. Campbell : Good morning Steve. How do you do?

Steve        : How do you do Sir?

Task 1

Discuss the differences between those two examples with your teacher!

Task 2

Role Play

Make in a group with your friend then practice these situations below!

  1. You introduce your parents to your friend
  2. You meet your boyfriend while you are walking with your girlfriend, then you introduce her to him.
  3. You introduce the new OSIS leader to your friend
  4. You introduce your friend to your teacher
  5. You introduce your parents to your teacher

Meeting with Friends

When we meet with somebody who knows us and we know, we usually give some common greetings.

Common greetings:

  • Hi how are you?
  • How are you doing?
  • How’s life?
  • How’s it going?
  • How have you been?
  • How’s everything?

Some responses:

  • I’m fine
  • I’m okay
  • I’m very well thank you
  • I’m good
  • I’m great
  • Not bad
  • I’m not okay
  • Pretty well
  • I’m very well

Task 1

Practice with your friend about asking condition

Asking and Giving Opinion

Sometimes we’d like to know about others’ opinion or comment about something. In the other hand, we’d also really like to give our comment and opinion.

Asking opinion:

  • How do you think about The government policy?
  • What do you think about the government policy?
  • What do you say about the government policy?
  • What’s your opinion about the government policy?
  • How about the government policy?

Giving opinion:

  • I think it’s better than before
  • In my opinion it doesn’t work well
  • The government policy never meets with the society

We would also like to show the agreement or disagreement by giving some questions.

Questions for agreement or disagreement:

  • Do think the government policy walks so well?
  • Do you agree with the government policy?
  • Are you satisfied with the government policy?
  • The government policy never satisfies the society, is it?
  • You always agree with the government, don’t you?

Responses for the questions:

  • Showing agreement:
  • I think so….
  • I agree with you….
  • Yes, that’s right
  • I totally agree with that…
  • I really believe that….
  • Yes I’m sure about that..
    • I don’t think so….
    • I disagree with you….
    • No, that’s not right
    • I totally disagree with that….
    • I don’t believe that….
    • I’m not sure about that
  • Showing disagreement:

Task 1

Find the topic by yourself to ask to your friends’ opinion!

Task 2

Make a question and opinion about topics below!

  1. Your school’s cleanness
  2. Your English teachers
  3. Our president
  4. Traditional food
  5. Modern food
  6. Living in the city
  7. Living in the village
  8. Food in the school’s canteen
  9. Tourism places in your town
  10. Public vehicles in your town

Task 3

Write your opinion about something in a small piece paper then fold it and turn it to your friend. Give your friend question and let her/him answer your question!

How does she look like?

Sometimes we need to know about physical appearance of somebody. Now, do the task 1 first!

Task 1

Draw a face and name each of part from the face!

Task  2

Draw a whole of human body, then name each part of it!

Asking about someone’s physical character, you can use:

  • How does she look like?
  • How about her appearance?
  • Is she beautiful?
  • Is he handsome?
  • Tell me about her appearance…
  • Do you think he is tall

Giving description can be stated in some words. Now look at the pictures below then read the example!

  • Lola is young, she is beautiful and she has long straight hair
  • Betty has round face and short wavy hair
  • Sandra has an oval face and curly hair
  • Tom is young and cute. He has a round face and short straight hair
  • Ronald is old. He is fat and his head jus has a few hair. He’s almost bald.

Task 3

Choose one of your friend, then describe of her/his appearance in front of the classroom and let other friends guest!

Task 4

Make a group of your class, then decide one of famous person to be described and guessed by other groups!

How is She Like?

After we know about someone’s appearance the next is we want to know more about his/her personality.

Let’s know about it!

Asking Personality

  • How is She/he like?
  • What do you think about him/her?
  • What is your opinion about him/her?
  • Do you think He is a good guy?
  • Is she nice girl?
  • He is smart, isn’t he?
  • What about her/his personality?
  • He is responsible boy right?

Giving explanation about personality

  • She is good girl
  • I think he is honest and responsible
  • In my opinion she is messy girl

Now, read the example of the dialog below!

Putri       : Lisa, do you know about Andi?

Lisa        : Andi?

Putri       : Yes, Andi! The new student from NTT

Lisa        : O ya. Oh God I almost forgot!

Putri       : He is your classmate, isn’t he?

Lisa        : You’re right.

Putri       : Errr…is he handsome?

Lisa        : I think not really. But he is quiet good looking. He is white and he has a pointed nose. He also has big eyes, but he is quiet tall too I think.

Putri       : How do you think about him?

Lisa        : He is quiet. He doesn’t speak much. May be because he can’t speak Javanese. But he is friendly and kind.

Putri       : Hey, is he smart?

Lisa        : He is not too smart but he is diligent

Putri       : So he is good student, isn’t he?

Lisa        : Put, why you asked about him much?

Putri       : I just wanna know

Lisa        : Come on don’t be shy to say that you like him right?

Putri       : No I don’t I just…

Lisa        : You admire him! Just say it. I will tell him

Putri       : Hey Put, please don’t I’m shy…

Lisa        : Don’t be shy…. It’s okay… I’m with you. Trust me he’s a good boy!
Task 1

Read some words below and determine them, whether they are personality or appearance then find the opposite word!

n  Fussy

n  Stingy

n  Calm

n  Friendly

n  Flirt

n  Noisy

n  Handsome

n  Tall

n  Big

n  Thin

n  Small

n  White

n  Smart

n  Married

n  Patient

n  Polite

n  Soft

n  Long

n  Pointed nose

n  Clean

n  Kind

n  Generous

n  Confident

n  Shy

n  Naughty

n  Diligent

n  Sloppy

n  Messy

n  Curly

n  Squared

n  Rich

n  Young

n  Slow

n  Heavy

n  Sharp nose

n  Discipline

n  Honest

n  New

Task 2

Make question and answer about personality with your friend!

Task 3

Make a guest about personality trait!

…………

Hobbbies

Talking about hobbies means talking about favorite things we do.

How to ask about hobbies:

  • What’s your hobby?
  • What do you like to do in your spare time?
  • What do you like to do in your leisure time?
  • What do you usually do for relaxing?
  • What’s your favorite thing to do?

How to give answer:

  • My hobby is swimming
  • I like swimming/ I like to swim
  • I usually swim
  • My favorite thing to do is swimming

Are these what you like to do?

Collecting stamps                    drawing

Writing                                    swimming

Shopping                                 Playing basketball

Playing with Comp                 Reading

Singing                                    Dancing

Find other hobbies!

Task 1

Ask your friends about their hobby

Task 2

Find the difference and similarity with you!

…………

Get off and Get in

You want to go somewhere but you don’t know to get there? You need a direction what you should take.

Asking a direction:

  • Can you tell me how to get there?
  • Could you please tell me what bus I should take to Tawangmangu?
  • Excuse me. Can you tell me how to get to tawangmangu?
  • What bus should I take to Tawangmangu?
  • What train should I take to Yogya so I can get to Malioboro?

Giving direction by using vehicles

  • Take Langsung Jaya bus or Rukun Sayur bus and get off at Tawangmangu bus station.
  • Take Prameks train and get off in Tugu train station. Take the becak and you’ll get to Malioboro
  • Take many buses to Tawangmangu. There are Langsung Jaya, Rukun Sayur, and etc.

Sometimes, we also can ask somebody to recommend a good place.

Asking recommendation:

  • Can you recommend a good hotel in Tawangmangu?
  • Can you recommend good tourist sight in Tawangmangu?

Giving Recommendation:

  • Yes.Kusuma Komaratih is a good hotel
  • Yes. Grojogan sewu is a good tourist sight

Task 1

Role play

Make in group. Play role by making dialog. You are as a tourist and try to get the way to the beautiful place in your town!

Others’  activity

If you want to know about others’ activity there

are some you can you use to make questions.

Asking

  • What do you usually do every Sunday?
  • Where do you usually go on Sundays?
  • What activities do you usually do on Sundays?
  • What favorite things you like to do on Sundays?
  • What time do you usually get up?
  • What does usually your sister do on Sundays?
  • What does she usually get up?
  • Tell me your activity on Sundays!
  • Tell me about your activity on Sundays!

Answering:

  • I go playing badminton and read magazines
  • I usually go playing badminton and read magazines
  • I like to play badminton and read magazines on Sundays
  • She usually reads magazines and watches TV
  • She usually gets up at 5
  • I usually get up at 6 in the morning

You can give explanation about your daily routines,  read the example below!

Good morning my friends! Let me tell you about my daily routines on weekdays. I usually get up at 4.30. And then I pray Subuh and take a bath. After that, I have breakfast, then I go to school around 6 in the morning. I go to school by bus. I go home from school at 1.30. I arrive at home around 2 in the afternoon. Sometimes I do not go home directly, but I join the extracurricular at school. I get home around 4. I take a bath and tidy my room. Sometimes I watch TV. At 5.45, I pray Maghrib. After that I have my dinner with my family. I recite Qur’an until Isya. And then, I pray Isya. Finish praying, I study until 10 pm. Finally I take a sleep after that.

You will usually use;

Then               and                            next        after that

Finally            usually                       sometimes    always

Rarely             often                         never

And how about if you tell about your friend activity? Read the example!

Good morning my friend! I would like to tell you about my friend’s daily activity. Her name is Indah. She usually wakes up at 05.00. She prays Subuh and helps her mother. She takes a bath, has breakfast then she goes to school. She comes home around 2. Then she helps her mother again. After that she watches TV for a while then she takes a bath. Then she prays Maghrib. After praying Maghrib she has dinner with her family. She recites Qur’sn and prays Isya. And then she studies until 10. Finally she gets asleep.

Task 1

Make a group of your friends and retell your activity with your friends in a group. Share the story of your activity which you usually do on weekend, weekdays or holiday!

Task 2

Retell your story to the other groups or in front of the classroom!

Leave a Reply

Email:

rppguswur@gmail.com

Belajar Inggris

BelajarInggris.Net 250x250

Blog Stats

  • 1,509,549 hits

Pengunjung

free counters

blogstat

Alexa Certified Site Stats for www.aguswuryanto.wordpress.com

Incoming traffic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 153 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

